Happy New Year! and Whole30 Day 1

This day has been a long time coming.  I pseudo-started Whole30 back in September but then Hurricane Sandy hit and since Whole30 is not quite possible if you don’t have power (or aren’t in your own house), due to all the cooking and prep work involved so my lovely hubs agreed to do with with me in January if I postponed it until then.

Leading up to today, if I wanted something sweet, I let myself have it, knowing that there would be a day that I wouldn’t be able to do so. Today is that day.  I’ve read that the things you go through during the first two weeks of your Whole30 is directly related to the things you ate leading up to it.  That is what I’m  nervous about.  The first day of something new is always exciting and interesting, you’re all into it.  Then the newness wears off and you’re in the day-to-day of it. That’s what I’m nervous about.

We took down the Christmas tree/decorations yesterday. Usually we keep the tree up until at least mid-January but for some reason I couldn’t get the tree out of the house fast enough. Our house is really small so bringing in a tree from outside makes the house seem even smaller. I think I’m just ready for things to get back to normal.

Hubs has bronchitis so I flew solo at the New Years Eve party last night! Some friends had people over. It was fun! We played Pictionary Down The Lane. If you’ve never played, you’re missing out! It’s a lot of fun! Each person in the game has enough small sheets of paper for each person in the group (10 people = 10 sheets of paper per person). The first person writes down a phrase and passes it to the next person. They then draw the phrase on the next page. They pass it and the third person has to write a phrase based solely on the picture, they can’t look back at the original phrase. Get it? Some of the way the things get twisted. Sometimes I would add a detail to a drawing or a word to the phrase just to make things interesting! 🙂

Hubs and I have just been hanging out today. We watched some Sherlock – the BBC version. Really good show!

We took our before photos and took our starting weights and measurements! Can’t wait to see what the ending results are!!

Leave a Reply

