Back to work! Whole30 Day 2

After a very lovely week and a half off from work, I went back today and was surprised that I didn’t mind being there as much as I had anticipated. My schedule in the morning (thanks to a rotating schedule) was very open and I worked on creating a budget worksheet for Hubs and I to follow. There are still some tweaks that need to be made but I think it will work.  I’m trying not to stress over the lack of funds; I know God will provide.

I have to say that I’m typically a snacker. I like to munch. And the time between breakfast and lunch I almost always get hungry and eat something. Breakfast before Whole30, while I always had some protein (i.e. eggs), it never seemed to fill me up like I wanted. I inevitably got hungry and snacked, usually on cashews or some piece of fruit.  WELL! Let me tell you! I have met my breakfast match! What I had today filled me up completely until about 1/2 hour before lunch! It was fantastic!  The few times I thought I felt hungry I drank some water and then didn’t think twice about eating.

Breakfast: Two scrambled eggs, 1/2 cup ground chicken with taco seasonings (homemade) from dinner a couple nights ago, and 1/2 an avocado.

At first I didn’t think I would be able to finish it. That’s A LOT of protein! But I did. And I didn’t get hungry! It was lovely!

Lunch was leftovers from dinner last night: pork, apple, and sage stuffed pork chops (the recipe called for bacon but we haven’t gotten our Whole30 approved bacon yet so I substituted ground pork. It was lovely. Recipe: here); extra pork stuffing; some caramelized red onions with sauteed spinach (I add this to e.ver.y.thing because I love it so much!), and some roasted  broccoli. I also had a salad with 1/2 an avocado and the always awesome Lemon Garlic Tessamae’s Whole30 approved salad dressings. Check them out here. It filled me up until the bell rang around 3:00. I had some cashews and an apple and felt great until dinner.

Dinner tonight was spiced chicken legs (recipe: here) with a veggie stir-fry (coconut aminos in lieu of soy sauce) and some roasted sweet potatoes with herbs de provence (another current obsession).

I felt good today. Minus waking up with enough adrenaline to out run a cheetah (my alarm really startled me). Looking back I  don’t ever remember feeling tired and I didn’t have the after-lunch slump. 🙂

On a different note, I started my Bible reading but only got to “In the beginning God…” because the Bible that I downloaded for my Kindle is a study Bible so then I was reading all the notes that go with the beginning verses of Genesis.  I’ve started reading the Bible so many times (and never finished) that I’m really praying God makes these first couple books fresh and new.  I don’t want to read them thinking that I know everything about them, Clearly I don’t.

Leave a Reply

