Day 3 and 4

One thing that I like about this Whole30 thing (there are many actually) but one specific thing that I like is that I’m experimenting more in my cooking. No longer can I rely on pasta or rice to make up the majority of the meal. Now I fill it with vegetables: sweet potatoes, spaghetti squash, broccoli, asparagus, green/yellow squash, etc.

Tonight dinner was sausage stuffed apples. It was REALLY good! Secret ingredient? Cinnamon! It really adds some nice flavor!  There is extra pork stuffing so I’m excited to eat it with my eggs  tomorrow morning.  That’s another thing I’m enjoying, taking dinner  and adding it to my breakfast the next morning. The pork I’ve been using is from Wyebrook Farm.  I’m loving it! AND I’m getting bacon without sugar in it! The guy at the market is going to try make a batch without nitrates or brown sugar! I’m excited to see how it turns out!  I’m hoping to get some eggs there too! 🙂

I seem to be reacting just as the Whole9 has predicted:
Day 1: What’s the Big Deal? – I can totally do this.
Day 2-3: The Hangover – while I didn’t have a ‘hangover’ specifically, I did feel tired during the day. I even had a “slump” after lunch!
Day 4-5: Kill ALL the Things – I haven’t wanted to kill anything, though last night I did have a slight meltdown while Hubs and I were talking about our finances but I don’t think that was triggered by the Whole30. I think that was normal life stress.

So tomorrow is supposed to be anther “Kill ALL the Things” day. We’ll see how it goes.

I had my first major craving today. I was sitting at my desk after the bell rang working on the budgeting worksheets I’ve been creating, and all of a sudden I was like, “I need some chocolate!”  I know from reading It Starts With Food and on the Whole9life website, that cravings typically last between 3-5 minutes. So if you can distract yourself for a short time, the craving will pass.  Luckily I sent the documents to the printer and ended up talking to some colleagues so I completely forgot about it.

I have, however, not been able to shake the desire to munch today.  It’s not that I’ve wanted to munch on non-Whole30 foods (although I saw a picture for key lime cupcakes on Pinterest that looked heavenly!), the things I have wanted are nuts, maybe some dried fruit (another thing to limit)  and I know I’m not supposed to do a lot of snacking, I am supposed to eat when I’m hungry (determining the difference between actual hunger and a craving is a learned skill) but I just wanted to keep eating today. It could be due to the big P.

Dinner last night was salmon for me (Hubs doesn’t eat fish) and ground beef for Hubs (I don’t eat ground beef). I baked the salmon and had it with some roasted asparagus and broccoli.  The salmon wasn’t my best. I topped it with a hazelnut “butter” recipe from It Starts With Food.

I’ve been meaning to make some homemade BBQ sauce and mayo, so hopefully I’ll get that done tomorrow along with putting away the remnants of the Christmas decor.  There’s also laundry, general cleaning, etc.  The list never ends!

Leave a Reply

