Epic Fail and TMI

So I tried to make the mayo today after school.  Epic fail.  I was thinking that we could use the extra chicken I had to make chicken salad for dinner.  Nope. That didn’t happen.

First, I tried to use our Ninja.   We have this Ninja (the regular one?) not to be confused with this Ninja (the blender one?) so I’m blending away and the motor started to make this awful noise like a mother bear protecting her cubs and I knew I was done.  I probably burned the engine out and the whole thing is shot now.

So then I tried to whip it by hand. That lasted about a minute before I had my husband call the neighbors to see if they have a regular blender. Which they did.  However, I never got the initial egg and lemon juice to emulsify so adding all that oil afterwards did nothing to make the mixture mayo-like.  Also, there’s really no good way to add anything to a blender (Ninja or regular) because if you have the thing running, and take the lid off (or even open up a small part to add an ingredient) stuff starts to fly everywhere. The kitchen was Disaster City.

Needless to say we didn’t have chicken salad for dinner. What I did make was pretty good though. I don’t have a name for it but here’s what I did.

Saute some red onion in coconut oil until soft
Add a clove of garlic, minced
Chop one yellow squash, add to pan
Chop one  green squash, add to pan
Chop 2 small carrots, add to pan
Chop 2 small (or one medium) bunch of broccoli, add to pan
Add 1/4 – 1/2 cup Tessamae’s Lemon Garlic Dressing
Add chopped cooked chicken
Add various spices: paprika, celery salt, garlic powder, salt, mustard powder
Mix well until heated through

I just threw it together with what I had in the house and it turned out  pretty good. It kind of reminded me of those frozen Birds Eye dinners you can buy but without all the additive and preservatives.

So onto the TMI.  This Whole30 really causes you to listen to your body to figure out the signals it is sending you. Today, my stomach and GI tract had a lot to say.  There were a lot of rumblings/garglings.   The Whole9 Forum has been fantastic for my wonderings about the things I’m experiencing, if this or that is normal, what to expect at certain times etc.

Recently I search “poop” because everybody poops, and let’s be honest – things are changing.  A high fat diet can cause loose poo and if you’re going from a low fat diet (as most people follow because that’s what society has pushed on us) to a higher fat diet (as the Whole30 is) then your body has to adjust.  Your gut bacteria is changing. Did you know that the majority of your immune system is in your intestines?  The book details how the foods you eat can cause increased gut permeability, digestive distress, and systemic inflammation.  I never knew what any of those things were until I read the book and I’ll probably have to reread the gut chapter a couple times to fully understand it but the first step to healing is putting the right foods in your body.

Leave a comment