Kale Chips and Chocolate Chip Cookies

HALFWAY!! Woo hoo!! Insert Bon Jovi!! That song brings back such memories!  It was one of the only English songs on the Juke Box in our favorite bar when I lived in Puerto Rico.  Oh El Mirador, how I miss you.

So last night I made caramalized italian pork chops with sweet onion jam.  I could eat the onion jam with a spoon it’s so good! You can find the recipe for the chops and jam here.  While I made that, I also made some chili sans beans.  Hubs doesn’t like beans and they are not Whole30 compliant so I’m not eating them either.  The issue Hubs had with chili was the beans so I’m glad that he likes it without them – it’s another option for dinner.   The chili was for dinner tonight but I made it last night because it had to cook for 2 hours on the stove and I knew I wouldn’t have that kind of time tonight if we wanted to eat before bedtime.  Good thing I did because there was a faculty meeting after school and then I tutored a student for a half hour.  Also had to run an errand, so I didn’t get home until around 5.

So today when I got home from school I halved and roasted an acorn squash and then filled the soft squash with the chili. It was really good.  Recipe here.

Kale chips.  Where have I been?  They are amazing! Crispy salty goodness.  I can’t wait to try different seasonings: adobo, old bay, garlic. The possibilities are endless!! 🙂

On a completely different note: I made chocolate chip cookies tonight, or at least the dough.  It was the first time I felt strong enough in my Whole30 to bake something non-compliant and not feel like I would scarf the whole thing down.  Matt and I attend a deaf church once a month and they have a game night every month.  The cookies are for the game night tomorrow.   There was only two instances where I was slightly tempted to eat some of the dough: when a little bit got on my finger and when I added the chocolate chips.  Other than that, I just munched on the kale chips and I was good! 🙂

Three-day weekend ahead! Woohoo!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jason
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 21:50:04

    I’ll have to have you make me some of those kale chips. I made them over the summer but they were not so good. See how they are tomorrow. Not sure how to keep them crispy. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

