BOO-YA!

Finished Whole30

We are now in uncharted territory.   As someone who likes to follow rules, I was a little nervous about the end of my Whole30 because I thought to myself, “What will I do without the safety net of the rules? What if I go off plan?”  I could see myself  beating myself up about eating off-plan foods, now that I know what I know about what certain foods do to your body when you eat them. But that’s no way to live.  I did this so that I could become healthier, so my body would run more efficiently, so that I would thrive instead of just survive. The perfectionist side of me wants to eat perfectly all the time – that’s no fun.  I’m not going to do that.   I got a recipe for flourless chocolate chip cookies .  I’m going to make them. And I’m going to eat them.

I’ve been thinking back on my Whole30 and doing some assessing.  There was definitely a hump I got over about 1/2 way through.  Up until that point there was frustration building about what I could/couldn’t eat, the stress of all the food shopping, having to cook every night, and the endless search for recipes.  I posted on the Whole30 forum about my frustration and got some good feedback.   It’s like I just needed to get those frustrations out because since then I’ve been fine.  I almost see that as a turning point in how I view this entire process.  It was a moment of acceptance.  Looking back, I almost question why I was so frustrated; it seems so silly.

So, the results.  You are out of your mind if you think I’m posting before and after pictures.   I weighed myself this morning and the scale said I gained 2.4 pounds.  However, I’m chalking up those pounds to the Big P that showed up today.  When I did this for a week or so back in September I dropped 5-7 pounds and got to basically where I am right now.  I hadn’t been feeling like I lost any weight during this so I’m not really surprised that the scale confirmed it.

The point of the Whole30 is not to lose weight.  The POINT is to get healthy, which I’ve done, so I can say that I was successful.  It can never hurt to cut added sugar and processed foods out of your diet.

I reintroduced dairy today by adding a little skim milk to my coffee.  I was thinking about adding back in added sugar but we want to isolate the reintroduced item so I’ll add sugar later.  About 5 minutes after I started drinking the coffee I got a headache.  Not a pounding-turn-out-the-lights headache, but a dull kind of droning headache.  Does that make sense?  On a scale from 1 to 10 it was probably a 2.  I kept drinking the coffee until about 8:15 and still had some slight head pain around 10:30, though it went down to a 1 or .5 on my pain scale.  I need to have something else with dairy in it; maybe I’ll have a piece of cheese after class tonight.  My Dad was lactose intolerant so I won’t be surprised if I have to limit how much I eat.  I really hope I don’t have to give it up completely because milk does such a better job than coconut milk of taking the bitter edge off coffee.   If headaches are the only reaction I have, depending on the severity of them, it might be something I can live with for the few instances I actually have dairy.   Coffee won’t be a problem because I don’t drink it every day.   Cheese occasionally would be nice. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

